Tour of Ebru TV

Fun fact. I had the opportunity to take a private tour of the studios of New Jersey and Turkey-based television station Ebru TV (see www.ebru.tv/en) earlier today, to learn more about international media sources and varying vantage points on the news – how we as the United States are portrayed in international media – and to discuss with the station’s leads the impact of the idea exchange that continues to rise in our globalized present.

For those like me who are fans of several foreign films – many of which are dubbed, not subtitled – you may be as stunned as I was to learn about the amount of effort that it takes to transform these films into a believable English.

For each single hour of foreign film? 80-90 hours of work in the studio. Props to those at Ebru, and to many others who take that on – I’ll appreciate my foreign films a great deal more going forward.